Eskom   Home_pic
Home | Site map
Decrease font size   Increase font size   Print this page   E-mail this page
Southern Africa grid map
Key facts
from power station to customer
Organisational structure
Executive summary
Vision, values and
strategic objectives
Group five-year review
Additional Information
Information Sheets
Keyword search
Corporate governance and tables  
Noscar Status Award

Kendal power station achieved Noscar status following the power station’s audit conducted between 11 and 15 June 2007 by obtaining a score in excess of 95% for three consecutive years and having a disabling incidence frequency rate (DIFR) of less than 0,8. Currently only 10% of all the companies audited on the Nosa integrated five star system achieved this status, which is an indication of the hard work and dedication of all the employees at the power station. The Noscar trophy and certificate will be awarded to Kendal at the Noscar banquet in 2008.

African Power Station Manager of the Year

The award for African Power Station Manager of the Year was created to recognise people who achieve the objectives of producing quality power for consumers and operating at maximum capacity and high efficiency. It also recognises excellence in a specific project or achievement by a power station manager that leads to a remarkable improvement in power plant efficiency or has had benefits for the community or environment. As a recipient of the award Johan Prinsloo stands out for having shared his considerable expertise not only within the confines of his own business but also far beyond the borders of his country. This includes his work in Sierra Leone and the sharing of experience and knowledge in a spirit of cooperation that extends across the length and breadth of our continent.

Best debt issue – 2007

The Bond Exchange of South Africa bestowed this award on Eskom for the bond issue that was most visible and best received and taken up by the market last year. The issue of the ES26 bond may have been successful due to its timing as a result of differentiating qualities such as its innovative structure or simply because of market appeal based on coupon maturity size or spread.

Accreditation of Koeberg operator training programmes with the National Academy for Nuclear Training, USA

On 19 November 2003, Koeberg was the first nuclear plant, outside the United States of America, to achieve initial accreditation for our operator training programmes. This was granted by the independent National Nuclear Accrediting Board in Atlanta, USA. The National Academy for Nuclear Training and the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations (INPO) support this process. On 29 November 2007, the accreditation of Koeberg’s training programmes was successfully renewed. We remain the only nuclear plant, outside the USA, to achieve this. This gives the nuclear academy the assurance that Koeberg is capable of maintaining accreditation standards and is continually improving its operator training programmes.

Golden key award

The golden key awards, a joint effort between the South African Human Rights Commission and the Open Democracy Advice Centre, are aimed at giving recognition to government departments, deputy information officers, and private institutions, for best practice in nurturing positive sentiment to openness and setting up enabling organisational systems and procedures that promote compliance with the provisions of the Public Access to Information Act (PAIA). Eddie Laubscher of Eskom was declared a joint winner of the Deputy information officer of the year award.

Ernst & Young Excellence in Corporate Reporting Survey award

Eskom’s 2007 annual report was selected as “Excellent” in the parastatal category for the 2008 Ernst & Young Excellence in Corporate Reporting Survey awards. The parastatal category is a new addition to the prestigious annual Excellence in Corporate Reporting Survey awards event. The judging panel indicated that “Eskom may well have been in contention for a top 10 ranking” if the parastatal category had been running for a longer period of time.

Awards       Back to top